Rock climbing in Eilat by the Red Sea

A town with 50+ thousand people has just a couple of experienced rock-climbers, two climbing walls and an awesome area of natural sandstone. Due to the warm and tourist-friendly atmosphere of the town the local rock climbing community is very nice, peacefull but not constant and small.

IMG_3258

An overall image of a rock-climber in Eilat is a young diving instructor having settled there for a couple of months or years. He has had enough of it with his clients under water during the working day and is eager to stretch his legs in the evening. But none of them stay in Eilat for a considerable time period, so there is no constant group of regularly training climbers there. So I was one of those temporary rock-climbers of Eilat.

On the one hand, I was not a beginner as compared to others. On the other hand, it was Eilat where I started my regular trainings afresh after the injury and came back to the physical shape I once had had. I will remember the old and rickety climbing wall “Matnas”, the modern extreme-park “Top94″ and the bizarre “Solomon’s Stables” made of sandstone in the national park of Timna for the rest of my life.

 

Скалодром

The climbing wall “Matnas-kulier”

The climbing wall “Matnas Kulier” was built about 20 years ago. It was built on the donations from Canada and were intended to develop the children’s center of sports and culture. This is one of the cheapest climbing walls in the world – you have to pay only 4$ to go there. This price includes a pair of old and torn climbing shoes, harness, tea/coffee and an almost 100% guarantee that you’ll meet someone ready to help and talk to you there)) This climbing wall has only top-roping slightly-to-medium overhanging routes. The routes with holds themselves are boring, ugly and always the same. But the feature is just ideal! Thanks to it one can get endless pleasure of 6 rock-like tracks (6b+, 6c, 7a, 7a, 7b+ and 8a+) and their few combinations. This climbing complex was the place where I started to return to my previous physical shape and to revive my climbing skills after a 4-year break.

The center itself is functioning alright but the climbing wall was closed in the beginning of 2015 indefinitely. It can easily be opened if there is a person ready to ask the management and be in charge, but there are no candidates as far as I know…

The only real local rock-climber (Yossi) worked there for several years and now is the manager of the new extreme entertainment complex TOP 94.

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. cpndat.co.il

I started to train on the climbing wall of this complex together with him. While the complex was being built Yossi insisted it should have a lead zone – and this climbing wall finally turned out to be a good training venue. At the heart of the complex there is a 19-meter-high climbing wall that is still waiting for the real routes to be set.

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. cpndat.co.il

The complex daily opens its doors to thousands of children who have fun at the rope adventure park, all sorts of slides, jumps and ladders. Seriously training rock-climbers are hardly ever seen there.

There is a bouldering hall there.

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. cpndat.co.il

You could put more holds, there are plenty in the storage… I can’t do bouldering at all because I absolutely can’t put my left leg in danger of being hurt or fallen upon.

But the real pearl of rock-climbing in this Red sea region is the natural climbing area in the national park of Timna. There used to be the ancient Egyptian mines there and now you can enjoy a couple of dozens of climbing routes – from the easiest ones to those marked 8a+. it is a uniquely picturesque sandstone area where you can climb all year round. Rains hardly ever happen there. But if you go there in summer, you’ll be able to train only in the morning, because after 11 a.m. it is scorching hot there)) There are all types of feature: overhanging, vertical and sloping.

 

7a+

7a+/7b

8a

8a+ (The 8pm Show)

You should try to visit his place by all means. Even those who do not climb will appreciate this place’s unusual beauty and diversity of sandstone colours and shapes. You have to pay to go there but you can stay there overnight, there are modern conveniences on the territory. There are also marked cycle and walking routes and even a canteen.

And some great bouldering as well with perfectly flat sides. I can’t assess their quality – I didn’t try them myself, but they say there are some worthy ones.

 

Guidebook to the area in Hebrew.

Eilat climbing community on facebook, you are more than welcome to post there

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Авто в Ивановской области: http://info37.ru/ купить подержанную машину с пробегом.

Скалолазание в Эйлате на Красном море

В городе с 50-тысячным населением есть два с половиной опытных скалолаза, два скалодрома и эпичный сектор на природно-историческом песчанике. Туристическо-солнечный характер городка формирует отличную атмосферу в скалолазной компании, если такая собирается.

IMG_3258

Собирательный образ скалолаза в Эйлате – это молодой инструктор или стажер по дайвингу, осевший в Эйлате на несколько месяцев-лет, начинающий спекаться с клиентами под водой и решивший размять вечерком свои ласты. Но никто из них не задерживается в Эйлате надолго, поэтому в Эйлате нет костяка постоянно тренирующихся скалолазов. Я оказался одним из таких “проходящих” эйлатских скалолазов.

С одной стороны, в отличие от остальных, я не пришел с нулем. С другой стороны, именно в Эйлате я вернулся к регулярным тренировкам по скалолазанью после травмы и полностью восстановил форму. На всю жизнь в моей душе остался старенький расшатанный скалодром “Матнас”, современный эктрим-парк “Top94″ и причудливые “Соломоновы столбы” из песчаника в национальном парке Тимна.

Скалодром

Скалодром “Матнас-Кульер”

Скалодром “Матнас Кульер” был построен около 20 лет назад на пожертвования из Канады для детского спортивно-културного центра. Это один из самых дешевых скалодромов в мире – посещение стоит $4 – в эту цену включены дырявые скальные туфли, система, чай/кофе и почти 100% гарантия, что найдется кому постраховать и с кем поболтать :) На скалодроме есть только верхняя страховка, и почти все трассы нависающие. Сами трассы скучные, некрасивые и почти не меняются. Но рельеф щитов подобран просто великолепно, благодаря чему можно получить бесконечно удовольствие от 6 трасс (6b+, 6c, 7a, 7a, 7b+ и 8a+) скального характера и всевозможных комбинаций. Именно на этом скалодроме я начал входить в форму после почти 4-х летнего перерыва в скалолазании.

Центр функционирует до сих пор, а вот скалодром закрылся с наступлением 2015 года на неопределенный срок. Он готов открыться, если очень попросить или договориться с начальством, но заниматься этим некому…

Единственный серьезный местный скалолаз (Йоси), который проработал несколько лет на этом скалодроме, стал управляющим новым экстремально-развлекательным центром TOP 94.

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Вместе с ним и я начал тренироваться на скалодроме этого центра. На этапе строительства Йоси настоял, чтобы на скалодроме был модуль под нижнюю – и получился весьма неплохой полигон для тренировок. По центру комплекса стоит 19-метровая стена, все еще ожидающая накрутки нормальных трасс.

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Комплекс ежедневно принимает десятки и сотни детей, развлекая их веревочным парком, спуском с высоты, всевозможными прыжками-лесенками. Тренирующиеся скалолазы там – это побочный эффект.

Есть боулдеринговый зал

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Top94. Фото с сайта cpndat.co.il

Накрутить зацепки можно, были бы заинтересованные… Я боулдеринг лазить не могу, т.к. мне категорически запрещено падать на левую ногу.

Но изюминка красноморского скалолазания – это скалолазный район в национальном парке Тимна. Там, где были древне-египетские копи, теперь есть пару десятков маршрутов – от самых простых до 8а+. Это уникально живописный песчаник, на котором можно лазить круглый год – дождей здесь почти не бывает. Но летом – только с 6 до 11 утра, а иначе можно прижариться к скале вместе с расплавленным снаряжением :) Скалы местами сыпятся, местами нет. Есть нависание, вертикаль, положилово.

7a+

7a+/7b. Это моя первая трасса на скалах за 3 года и первая 7а+ в жизни

8a

8a+ (The 8pm Show)

Заехать стоит однозначно, тем более что само место обладает невероятной и очень нестандартной красотой изощренных песчаных форм всех красок. Въезд в заповедник платный, но можно останавливаться на ночь, присутствуют туалеты, велосипедные и пешие размеченные маршруты и даже столовая.

И, конечно, отличные боулдеринговые проблемы с красивыми ровными гранями. По качеству не знаю, не пробовал, но слышал что есть стоящее.

Гайдбук на иврите доступен онлайн.

Сообщество скалолазов Эйлата на фэйсбук, где всегда рады ответить

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *